FPV Racing – A New Sport

FPV Racing is a pretty new thing, not many people have heard of it, and most of the people who have are enthusiasts themselves. With that being said, if you have heard of it and you’re not an enthusiast, you should probably go see a doctor.

Instead of explaining in simple terms what it is, watch this video and you’ll have a pretty good idea:

There you have it, it’s basically the modern day equivalent of the racing that Annakin does in Star Wars, except it’s not as life threatening or expensive.

If you feel that you have done enough reading and want to get started, follow the Flying Robot link in the FPV Racing menu.

My love of remote control flying things runs deep into my veins. I have a very particularly intenseĀ love-hate relationship with remote control helicopters. I love flying them and I hate crashing them, something which happens way too often and a rebuild is ridiculously expensive.

With mini quad racers on the other hand, a crash is something you do when you want to get better, and most of the time the damage is propeller or two. It doesn’t really compare to the utter destruction at the crime scene of a helicopter crash, at all.

When I watched the video above the bug bit me instantly, I ordered parts from HobbyKing and waited a agonizing six weeks for them to arrive in Cape Town. I hurriedly slapped all the necessary parts together in a very sloppy build and Voila! I had my very first quadcopter.

11036217_10153917178658989_1239014051531618449_o.jpg
Myself and three other pilots in the first official South African FPV race ever!

The next few chapters of this love story is a dramatic tale of love and hate, albeit a lot of love, and very little hate…

Leave a Reply

